Register now to get rid of these ads!

1963 ford fairlane

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by ruckus2115, Nov 29, 2011.

1. ruckus2115

ruckus2115
    from Washington

hello....so im pretty new to this forum (i have normally stuck to motorcycle forums) but i have a '63 fairlane and this winter i will be working on it. it has the stock 260 and a three speed tranny that i plan to rebuild. i am not going to bore and stroke the engine but i do want to rebuild it better. by that i mean i want to put a hotter cam in it, better intake, and a four barrel carb on it. I also want to get rid of the stock generator and switch to the single wire gm alternator (any advice on that would be awesome). ill also be putting in a new gas tank and fuel lines....new oil pump...and i have already switched it to an electronic ignition. i am new to the whole performance aspect of rebuilding engines so i would like to hear some opinions about what would work the best. i want it to be turn key reliable but still have some get up and go. i have searched a few different forums and think this would give the best advice.
    here are some pics of the car. it is a four door and in running condition. body is straight with some dings in it but the rust is non existant. I bought it from an 18 year old who said the car was in his family since his grandparents bought it new in '63. so the car does have potential in my eyes.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. 1950Effie

1950Effie
    from no where

Cool ride use to have three sports coupe including a "K" model.

By the way I would introduce yourself at the top of the forums page before posting a tread. Were all kinda funny about that here on the Hamb.

3. 1950Effie

1950Effie
    from no where

Also, I'd ditch the 260 and run with at least a 289.

4. BADBIRDCAGE

BADBIRDCAGE
    from Virginia