Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Buying a metal brake

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Ben Chirco, Feb 26, 2023.

1. Ben Chirco

Ben Chirco

I a trying to set myself up for when i retire. I want a metal brake. I hope to spend retirement working on old cars and hot rods. No frame work, just body panels. I think a 4 -6 foot brake is all i need.

What information can you guys tell me i need. i will buy used. budget is up to 1200-1600 +/-.

Keep in mind, i have never used one but i am a very good carpenter, so i can learn

Thanks

Last edited: Feb 26, 2023
  2. chevyfordman

chevyfordman

There are a lot more tools and equipment I would buy before I would buy a brake. I use my brake very little but that's me. I would watch the YouTube videos of Wray Schelin, you will learn so much from him and find out you won't need a lot of equipment. Brakes are nice but they take up a lot of valuable space for the little they do and this is just my opinion. Wray shows you how you can do metal work with hand tools, cheap equipment and also with expensive equipment. He even shows you how to make the hand tools.

Bruce Wolfe, Shalamo and 2OLD2FAST like this.
  3. mohr hp

mohr hp
    from Georgia

No doubt, a brake is a space eater. However, if you want a long, arrow straight bend or crease, it is the tool for the job. same for a stomp shear. I have the same debate going on. We have these things at work, and I know once I retire, I'll be missing them. Deals can be had on old Pextos if you look around. If you're in a big shop, and anticipate metal fab, you won't regret it.

hrm2k and Shalamo like this.
  4. Usually a 4 ft is enuf, but look into a Finger Brake, nice to use when doin smaller panels.
    I use mine more than I thought I would

5. noboD

noboD

I agree completely.

Hollywood-East likes this.
  6. rockable

rockable
    ALLIANCE MEMBER